“The census officially began on June 24, 1906…. A commissioner was appointed to each province to coordinate the census effort. Reporting to the commissioners, enumerators were then assigned to a clearly defined area…. A total of 673 enumerators visited 22 census districts, divided into 602 enumeration area units. These units were made up of cities, towns, groups of townships, Indian reserves, and other less well-defined areas…. Enumerators collected information for 802,442 individuals, distributed as follows: Manitoba (359,969); Saskatchewan (257,577); Alberta (184,896)…. The enumeration data were collected using two documents, known as schedules: Schedule 1, Population and Live Stock; Schedule 1, Agriculture.”


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.