AGOFF East and West Prussia is an East and West Prussia genealogy research for Arbeitsgemeinschaft Ostdeutscher Familienforscher, an East German Genealogy Society with research centers throughout Eastern Europe.

This area includes a research group for Sensburg (currently in Poland).

Research groups

Contact Person



East Prussia

City and Country Cepts West Prussia

Evangelical Church
in East Prussia

Catholic Church
in East Prussia

Evangelical Church
in West Prussia

The Catholic Church
in Warmia (West Prussia)

Attorneys in West Prussia

Attorneys in East Prussia


“The province of East Prussia, established in 1808, formed the province of Prussia from 1824 to 1878 with West Prussia. After the First World War, East Prussia from the Neidenburg district lost the Soldauer region to Poland, while the Memel area was occupied by Lithuanian troops in 1923 after a three-year Allied administration, and on 17 May 1924 it received a considerable domestic autonomy within Lithuania; With effect from March 22, 1939, Lithuania withdrew the Memel region. In 1945, the southern part of East Prussia came to Poland; from the north of East Prussia, the Memel region was integrated into the Lithuanian Socialist Soviet Republic (since 1991 Republic of Lithuania), while the remaining part was subdivided as the “Kaliningrad Territory” of the Russian Socialist Federal Soviet Republic (since 1991 Russian Federation).”

“From 1922 to 1939 the part of West Prussia, which remained with the German Reich, belonged to the Province of East Prussia as a district of West Prussia, so far as it did not come to the province of Grenzmark Posen-West Prussia. At the end of 1939, the administrative district of Zichenau was formed from parts of the Warsaw voivodship and Suwalki (as the district of Sudauen), and was subordinated to the head of the province of East Prussia.” More history continues on website.


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.