Delaware is geographically into tax-districting areas called “hundreds” that haven’t changed since 1897 and are helpful in locating records for ancestors in Delaware. This is a map of the Hundreds districts in 1868.

“On 25 Oct 1682, William Penn directed that Delaware be divided into townships occupied by 100 families where each family would have an average of about ten members (including servants). These townships were referred to as “hundreds” in a 9 Apr 1690 order by the Provincial Council. Originally, there were five hundreds in New Castle County, five in Kent County and two in Sussex County. As the population grew, several of the hundreds divided, creating new hundreds. In 1875, the total number of hundreds had grown to the present-day thirty-three hundreds. Their boundaries have essentially not changed since and no longer serve as judicial or legislative districts.”


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.