These are links to free, online Massachusetts Vital Records Collections for various towns in the state. They include birth records, marriage records, and death records usually up to 1850.

Most of these collections were researched by the New England Historic Genealogical Society (NEHGS) and others were commissioned by other societies/groups.

NEHGS collections not currently available online for free include Ashfield, Charlestown, Eastham, Fairhaven, Harwich, Lowell, Marshfield, Milton, Montague, Otis, Pepperell, Sandisfield, Sandwich, Swansea, Taunton, and Truro.

Items included in italics are substitute vital records collections for Massachusetts towns not included in the NEHGS commissioned records collection or if it’s one of the above-named towns, the italics are a substitute for the NEHGS collection.



4 responses to “Online Massachusetts Vital Records to 1850”

  1. Tried looking up Ipswich, MA BIRTHS, but only found marriages. Unfortunately, the website most people consulted, at, is no longer available. (The webmaster left NO information about that situation, so we are left wondering what the heck happened to it.)

    1. J.R.,

      Thanks for visiting the OnGenealogy directory. Have you tried the link in this listing for the Ipswich Birth Records at Internet Archive? Volume 1 is Births, Volume 2 is Marriages and Deaths.

      Also try the free collections at FamilySearch (you’ll need to create a free account to search most of their site).

      We’ll be updating our Massachusetts vital records collections this month so please check back for more online collections.

      Best with your research,


    2. Me also….it was a great site…

      Sometimes I wonder if he sold the information…


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.