Rhode Island is divided into 39 towns and cities with a Town/City Clerk or Manager overseeing government offices. Portsmouth was established in 1638 and incorporated in 1640. Portsmouth is part of Newport County, Rhode Island.


The Portsmouth Town Clerk has online access to multiple databases. Below are Portsmouth Public Records links where you can look up property addresses & owners, tax values, maps, and learn about accessing vital records information.


  • Portsmouth Tax Assessor – determines the value of all taxable property including real estate, autos, & tangible personal property.






Villages include:

  • Bristol Ferry

  • Cedar Island

  • Common Fence Point

  • Corey Lane

  • Despair Island

  • Dyer Island

  • Gould Island

  • Hog Island

  • Homestead

  • Hope Island

  • Hummocks

  • Island Park

  • Melville

  • Patience

  • Prudence

  • Quaker


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.